Skip to main content

What is the Digital Certainty Index™ (DCI™)?

Sean Needham avatar
By Sean Needham

The Digital Certainty Index™ (DCI™) is a measure of the quality and potential impact of a site's digital presence, including:

  • A website’s accessibility and usability
  • A website’s credibility and trustworthiness
  • How well-poised a website is to respond to SEO challenges

The DCI Score is calculated based on a website's performance across three categories: Quality Assurance, SEO, and Accessibility. Each module makes up one third (33.33%) of the Overall DCI Score. 


Scores in the Quality Assurance, SEO and Accessibility modules contribute to the overall DCI Score. A DCI Score of 100 means your website is in excellent condition. The DCI Score gives you a comprehensive overview of issues across all aforementioned modules, highlighting issues that need to be fixed and providing recommendations on how to fix them.

The DCI overview can be found in the Siteimprove Dashboard. In the DCI overview, you are presented with issues that have been organized based on the impact they have on your website's DCI Score and ultimately, the condition of your website.

Below are explanations of each sub-score that contribute to the overall DCI Score:

Quality Assurance Score: This score reflects a website’s credibility and trustworthiness regarding its user-facing characteristics. Your website's Quality Assurance Score is determined by its performance in four subcategories: Content Quality, Content Freshness, User Experience, and Security.
Learn more about the Quality Assurance Score.

SEO Score: This score is a measure of how well the user-facing and technical aspects of a site contribute to search engine optimization, and ultimately, higher rankings and organic traffic. Your website's final SEO Score is determined by its performance in the four sub-categories: Technical, Content, User Experience, and Mobile. Learn more about the SEO Score.

Accessibility Score: This score is a measure of how well a website tests against web accessibility standards set out in WCAG (Web Content Accessibility Guidelines) 2.0. Your website's Accessibility Score is determined by the number of success criteria a site fulfills under the three WCAG conformance levels (A, AA, AAA).
Learn more about the Accessibility Score.

Note: The Digital Certainty Index™ (DCI™) has a patent pending.

Was this article helpful?
2 out of 3 found this helpful