Skip to main content

What is WCAG?

Guðrún Unnur Gústafsdóttir avatar
By Guðrún Unnur Gústafsdóttir

WCAG is the official Web Content Accessibility Guidelines. These guidelines have been developed by a group called Web Accessibility Initiative (WAI) in W3C. The guidelines are internationally recognized and are used in policy and best practice worldwide.

WCAG has four main areas: Perceivable, operable, understandable, and robust.

Within each of these four areas there is a set of guidelines and each guideline has a set of success criteria. The individual success criteria are most commonly used for conformance requirements. They are divided into three levels: level A, level AA and level AAA. Most organizations are required to conform with level AA (all criteria on level A and level AA).

It will be very difficult for a website to conform to all criteria on level AAA. For this reason the recommendation is, that one picks from these criteria based on priority pages and target groups.

Was this article helpful?
5 out of 12 found this helpful